A Humble Heart

Do you want to know the joy and freedom of having a humble heart? Or do you fear it as I often have? I think we usually use the word humble incorrectly. We use it to mean shame or humiliation, like when we say ‘he had to eat humble pie’. In fact, pride and shame are two sides of the same coin. When I succeed and feel pride in what I’ve done I get no lasting satisfaction from it. That’s because deep inside I know that I could have failed and that I might fail the next time. Pride always has hidden shame crouching inside of it. What goes up must come down.

Humility is a completely different animal. Humility is a prerequisite to knowing God and drawing closer to Him. Listen to this:
Because your heart was responsive and you humbled yourself before God when you heard what he spoke against this place and its people, and because you humbled yourself before me and tore your robes and wept in my presence, I have heard you, declares the LORD. (II Chronicles 34:27 ~NIV)
And this:
He guides the humble in what is right and teaches them his way. (Psalm 25:9 ~NIV)
And this:
For the LORD takes delight in his people; he crowns the humble with salvation. (Psalm 149:4 ~NIV)

Among others, Moses, David, and Daniel were referred to in the Bible as humble men. Each of these men had a close walk with God. They were God’s intimate companions and trusted messengers. In fact, Jesus himself was described as one who humbled himself and became obedient to the Father.

Recently I had the courage to ask God for a humble heart for the first time in my life. To have a humble heart but not a shame-filled one; this is the next step in my journey.

One thought on “A Humble Heart

  1. Lisa, I needed to read this this morning….thank you! How true~ to walk in humility is not to continue to walk a shame filled life…there is a big difference….I look forward to what God continues to show you in this…((((HUGS)))

    Like

Leave a comment