High Anxiety

Can you tell a difference in your own life between anxiety and worry?  I worry about specific known dangers.  When I’m worried I’m focused on one bad thing and I feel upset because I believe that if that thing happens my life will be miserable.  Worry is an obvious response to a temporary danger.  When the danger passes I feel grateful and move on with my life.  When I’m not in danger I can strip worry off and leave it behind me like a pile of filthy clothes.

Anxiety is an enemy that strikes like a monster in the dark.  Anxiety shifts and morphs and reappears as if from nowhere. There are times when I can feel the monster breathing on the back of my neck but when I spin around to see its face it slips away into the shadows.  Anxiety hides deep inside, afraid of the light of day.  I don’t think my way into it, and I have to believe my way out of it.  Each anxious day unfolds like a wrestling match where I battle an enemy faster and more powerful than I am.  Thank God, I don’t fight alone.

The best thing I can do to turn the tide against the anxiety beast is to remember who God is and what He has done for me.  I must remember that God is good; that He rescues the perishing; that He breathes life into death; that He opens the eyes of the blind; that He heals the broken hearted and binds up their wounds.  Meditating on these truths builds a force field around me that keeps the anxiety monster at bay.  Inside I find my peace.

Let me close with this and remember the blessing:  Cast all your anxiety on him because he cares for you. (I Peter 5:7)

Leave a comment