Life Hurts-God Heals Us

[healing:] the gut-wrenching journey through brokenness toward restoration, wholeness, and a fully alive heart

Scars are a testimony to the love of God that is stronger than my pain…a love that never gives up, even when I wanted too…..

None of us escape the pain and hurts of life.  To live is to hurt, and we all have the wounds and the scars to prove it.
But regardless of how we’ve been wounded we all face a common question: “What should we do with our pain? Should we stoically ignore it? Should we just “get over it”?  Or should we optimistically hope that everything will work out in the end? ”

All too often I think that if we fail to respond appropriately to the wounds life and relationships inflict, our pain will be wasted; it will numb us or even destroy us.

But our suffering doesn’t have to devastate our hearts and rob us of joy. It can, instead, lead us to life—if we know the path to healing-Jesus!!

I believe it was Dan Allender who said: “Healing is not the resolution of our past; it is the use of our past to draw us into deeper relationship with God and his purposes for our lives.”

Real healing isn’t just about finding relief from the suffering; it’s an open door to see God (and ourselves as well) in a fresh new way….to see the world through new eyes.

I don’t know about you, but when life gets crazy for me I tend to want to do anything to feel better…to numb the pain. Sometimes I can easily become consumed about fixing the problem in my own way and in my own strength, relying on my own limited amount of wisdom.

Or I can become addicted to doing….living a perfectionistic, totally put together life.  

Occasionally I shut down my heart so I don’t feel anything. Or maybe now and then I will cling to anyone or anything that makes me happy, so I end up addicted to an unhealthy relationship or situation.

Can you relate to any of these as well? How do you run from pain and brokenness in your life? Do you bury your head in the sand, become indifferent or try to fix it? Do you feel stuck or depressed? Or maybe you feel hopeless and alone?

In Psalm 13, David was upset and hurt. Four times in the first two verses he pleads with God, “How long O Lord?” He even questions God, wondering if He has forgotten him. Yet by the end of the Psalm David expresses confidence in God’s power to rescue him.

When we run to God we find a safe place to be honest with our pain….we can pray and ask God for the courage to open our spirit and deal with the core of our brokenness and loss. Never does He tell us to just get over it, never does He shame us when we are in pain, and He is certainly never shocked.

Rather, He enters our pain with us and remains present in His love and strength even if everyone else walks away, deserting us. The bible says that God is close to the brokenhearted and those crushed in spirit…..He promises us in His word that He will never leave us or forsake us…God cries with you, and gathers your tears in a bottle…..when we are honest with God it opens our hearts to receive his tender care, His wisdom, His strength and His comfort.

Don’t do like I did for too many years denying my brokenness….instead accept God’s invitation to bring your heart to the only one who can bring true healing. And then rest in His unfailing love for you…..

8 thoughts on “Life Hurts-God Heals Us

  1. Good stuff and helpful!
    I have set some boundries with my parents that allow me to feel better about myself now. I was finally able to tell them if they didn’t speak to me with the respect that I deserved then I would never take another one of their calls. When they tested me – I didn’t take their calls for nearly two weeks. They sent me an apology and I started to take their calls again. This time I told them there would be no second chances – either they treat me with respect or They would never be in my life again. I meant it too. I’ve given them 60 years to change and they didn’t do it. Now I have to take care of myself and just let this go. It doesn’t mean I don’t love them or haven’t forgiven them – it just means that I am taking care of myself. I now feel better about them and about me. I am not constantly fretting and holding my breath every time the phone rings. We can speak and be civil. I know that it’s too late for us to ever have a normal, loving relationship – but I’ll take a civil one. We don’t have many years left and at least I can take comfort in this.

    Like

    • (((Gentle hug))) I am so proud of you!! Setting boundaries isn’t easy, but good for you for having the courage to start…and to not allow guilt to settle on you like a heavy blanket….continue to seek the Lord as you set boundaries and find healing….and regarding having a normal, loving relationship with your parents, well, never say never!! With God all things are possible! I found that when I set boundaries it opened the door to a new kind of normal…it could not be what it was, and I didn’t necessarily know what it was going to look like…but it was a new way of living for all of us.

      Like

  2. I appreciate this word press. This made me cry.
    I have suffered (like all of mankind) from all types of pains, and without Gods healing love in my life, and faith to believe in His word I could not be here typing this.

    When I am dealing with pain, I run straight to Christ. In my younger years, I ran far from HIm when tragedy struck, I blamed Him for what I could not understand. If I had only known Gods true character then, I would have run straight TO Him not from Him.

    He is kind. He is patient. He suffers long. He is Our Father. He loves us and nothing can separate us from His love. He is compassion. He is mercy. He is just. He is a Father who desires to give His children good gifts. He is love itself. He heals the broken hearted, and binds our wounds. He is faithful. He is gracious. He is married to the backslider. He answers when we call on His name. He is for us.

    Jesus is our great priest, never ceasing to make intercession for us. He is the son of God. He is the Messiah. He is righteousness, the fulfillment of the Law.

    The Holy Spirit is our comforter, our teacher, the very spirit of God living inside of us.

    I have learned this things- no… not only learned, I have experienced them and know without a shadow of doubt, God is who He says He is, and does what He promises.

    These past few months have been very testing for me, my eyes well up with tears whenever I am by myself. I know this is a different season of healing for me…
    I know I will make it through because I know YAWEH and He loves me. =)

    Like

    • Kelly,thank you for reading along and for your gracious words…..it sounds like our Lord has carried you through a lot of trials, and through the fire you have experienced His healing!! I rejoice with you….May our Lord Jesus continue to walk with you through this time of testing and may your life continue to be as a pleasing offering to Him~to God be the glory!

      Like

  3. Yes I had to learn the hard way, running to anything but our Abba Father with my pain – it is like broken cisterns that hold no water – no sustenance, no life, no help, no comfort or healing -in fact not going to my God with my pain only worsened it and therefore I hope for others that they won`t suffer more than they have to – Go to your Abba Father – the safest and most caring counselor of all!

    thanks for sharing

    God Bless,Daniela

    Like

    • Daniela, good, good words, thank you!!
      It is so true, when we don’t run to our heavenly Father the pain only gets worse….it’s like the wound gets infected and can’t heal…and although it often hurts when the Lord begins to open the wound and apply His healing, the pain doesn’t last….His healing is complete.
      We can trust Him!!
      Blessings, Connie

      Like

Leave a Reply

