Living Your Wounds Through…..

“You have been wounded in many ways. The more you open yourself to being healed, the more you will discover how deep your wounds are….The great challenge is living your wounds through instead of thinking them through. It is better to cry than to worry, better to feel your wounds deeply than to understand them, better to let them enter into your silence than to talk about them. The choice you face constantly is whether you are taking your wounds to your head or to your heart. In your head you can analyze them, find their causes and consequences, and coin your words to speak and write about them. But no final healing is likely to come from that source. You need to let your wounds go down to your heart. Then you can live through them and discover that they will not destroy you. Your heart is greater than your wounds.”

Henry Nouwen

 I’ve always liked Henry Nouwens writings and this one really speaks to me. I find this to be a daunting quote, yet one that holds so much truth. There is no way I could unpack it all but some things did jump out at me.

 Living our wounds through~this is something most of us would rather choose not to do….it is much easier (or so we believe) to constantly think them through …even be tempted to analyze them to death..

 Maybe you are like me and always want to find the root of what’s causing our pain. Asking ourselves questions such as: why do I act or think particular ways? Is there something that I haven’t dealt with, worked through or maybe there is a repressed memory?  Is it my relationship with my parents? On and on the thought process goes.

 While it is good to look at these areas, all too often all we do is think about them….

Maybe it’s all about trust…..trusting God. Although in our heads we know we can trust God, our hearts don’t always agree……Do we agree with Henri Nouwens words; your heart is greater than your wound?

 To live our wounds through~This is difficult, especially for those of us who avoid pain at all costs…. when pain doesn’t go away fast enough we criticize ourselves for not getting over it, for not being strong enough, or even for being vulnerable or for feeling helpless in the first place.
 Sometimes our wounds don’t heal because the mind gets too involved and continually says things like “I should do this and I’ll feel better,” or “Maybe if I did this it would repair the hurt,” or “I am hurting because of what another person did, and once they fix it, I will feel better.”

If all we do is continually think about them it actually hinders the healing process.
I believe we are all in need of healing.  We all have wounds: wounds from our past, wounds from relationships, and self-inflicted wounds caused by bad choices.

But healing is a process….. And it can be scary too.  And all too often we are afraid to speak about our pain or even acknowledge our need of healing. It sounds so simple doesn’t it….to not focus on trying to identify the cause of our pain; but to simply show Jesus our wounds and speak to Him about the pain. 

We do not need to be afraid. The very fact that we are aware of our wounds show us that we have ample strength to face them….God will give us the strength and the courage we need to face them, to live through them.

In Scripture we find that Jesus showed His wounds to the Apostles, and He invites us to show Him our wounds.  When we speak to Jesus about our pain and our wounds it is the first step to permitting Him to heal us.

As you pray, see Jesus inviting you to place your pain in His wounds.  As you pray in the Spirit reach out and touch His hands; touch His side; touch His Heart. 

And then dear friends spend as much time as you need, in His presence, RECEIVING His love. 

By His wounds we are healed…. He was wounded so that we could find healing…..His wounds are wounds of love for our healing; our wounds are receptacles to receive His healing love… the invitation to touch Jesus’ wounds, results in our healing.

10 thoughts on “Living Your Wounds Through…..

  1. Thank you for sharing this quote from Henry Nouwen and sharing your thoughts. I respect Nouwen’s writing and found truth in what you shared. I think it’s time I stop trying to think my way through a few of my own wounds.

    Your blog was a gem for me to find.

    Like

  2. Tersie, thank you so much for reading today and for your gracious comment….isn’t it just like our Abba to speak to our hearts just what and when we need it…God’s timing!!!
    Bless you.

    Like

  3. ((((Sunny)))) Bless you!!! Polished jewel….hmmm, I’ve never thought of myself that way~I think I need to do some thinkin’ on that one! 🙂
    ~Luv ya back~

    Like

  4. Thankyou, for sharing your blog, I have some catching up to read them all, and am already blessed to pieces after reading a couple of them. You are special and God has given you a special gift of writing.

    Like

  5. I am always honored when someone reads along~thankyou…..and thank you for your kind words and encouragement!!
    I love your pen name~mayHE-beGlorified~ indeed, it is always my prayer that as people read along they would see Him woven throughout~that through my story He is glorified…and actually, it’s not really my “story” but His in my life, as He is the HEALER, SAVIOR, FRIEND, REDEEMER, COMFORTER, FATHER, PRINCE OF PEACE…and on and on it goes…
    Bless you…

    Like

  6. God bless you for your sharing. Thanks to people like you, people like me get to face their wounds and yes I have decided to finally deal with my deepest ones and bring them to Our Lord Yeshua. Thanks and keep on being a source of encouragement to us all – we need more like you!

    Like

    • Daniela, thank you for reading and for responding…it means a lot to me to know that what God has healed in my own life brings glory to Him and helps another in their journey….it is never an easy path when we make the decision to face our deepest wounds~but God has promised us that He is both with us and for us in this journey…He will walk through this with you, do not fear the journey~you are in good hands!!
      Bless you!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

