Troublechild

One of my daughters shared a video with me that totally blew me away…it touched something deep within my heart, and God used it to speak a message to me….

A couple of weeks ago I found out that an elderly couple I knew while growing up, were moving from my home town to a new province thousands of miles away. I was saddened when I realized that I would most likely never see them again this side of heaven. I have wanted to write them a letter but never knew what to say to them….until I heard this song.

 Like the lyrics of this song I was labeled as the “troublechild” while growing up. People who know me today are totally surprised to learn of my past, they see me as prim and proper, a respectable Christian woman….and indeed I am. *grins*…so this is why they are shocked to learn that as a teenager people thought of me as the “troublechild”.

 There are times when as a teenager a parent forbids their child from hanging around with certain kids because they are a bad influence, or trouble to them….but I will never forget the day when I was taken aside, and with all seriousness, I was forbidden to hang around with my best friend anymore, not because she was the bad kid, but because I was the bad kid!!

I was shocked and devastated….that day my heart took another strike and a gaping wound was created…. I never let them see the pain; I never shed a tear, but calmly walked away only to later cry with such deep grief. Not only was I not allowed to be with my best friend, but I was labeled… deep in my heart I knew I wasn’t a troublechild…but just like in the video those words stuck and I began to believe them about myself.

The words of this video are so, so powerful, and true….all to often instead of crying because of the pain in my life I did turn to the wrong things, and people…..but instead of coming alongside of me and walking with me people continued to label me…and I continued to wear the label….until Jesus!!!

And like the video said, the very words I craved I had to tell myself because no one else said them to me….except a handful of people, and the couple I mentioned at the beginning were one of the few….this couple looked at me with eyes that told me they saw more in me than I saw in myself….they were believers and I know they prayed for me…they believed in me when no one else did or could…whenever I would see them they would look me straight in the eye and smile. They spoke more with their body language than many who use words. They lived out Jesus even though I didn’t know it at the time.

One Scripture that God spoke to me when I first fell in love with Him was 1 Corintians 1:26-28:

Remember, dear brothers and sisters, that few of you were wise in the world’s eyes or powerful or wealthy when God called you. Instead, God chose things the world considers foolish in order to shame those who think they are wise. And he chose things that are powerless to shame those who are powerful.  God chose things despised by the world; things counted as nothing at all, and used them to bring to nothing what the world considers important.

I know that this isn’t a Christian song but the words are powerful none the less…and I do pray that God will anoint it and use it to bring healing and love to the lives of so many young men and women….young people who need to know and believe that are of value, that in His eyes they have dignity, even when the world would throw them away….may we all see past the outward appearance and see hearts of worth and value….

And now I know what to write to this elderly couple…..

One thought on “Troublechild

  1. As the song says, “words I am craving, I need to put out there”
    for they will surely come back to me. Thankyou Connie for your writing on “troublechild”. I think we all have felt that way at one time or another, especially as a child or during the teen year. May God continue to Bless you as you continue to serve Him in the special way He is teaching you.

    Like

Leave a Reply

