Coming out of the dark….

 

There is an old adage that says: Healing takes time.  And although I don’t know your particular wounds or the circumstances that caused them, or your personal struggles or the pain and hurt that caused you to retreat, I do know this: Our God Heals!! Our God Redeems, Our God Restores, Our God makes all things new…..He simply asks us to CHOOSE His Healing and then surrender to His process. It sounds scary doesn’t it!

 But we need not fear His process. And as much as we want instant healing, or a simple ten step process, I have found it doesn’t work that way. Getting our lives back takes time, more time than you may have hoped.

Maybe you are like I was years ago when faced with the choice to heal. Instead of taking the necessary steps to heal, to move towards growth, I kept playing the same old lines in my mind: Maybe later…but you don’t know my life….I’m too overwhelmed….it will be too hard….what if it doesn’t work….what if its too much…..on and on the excuses went.

Until I came to the day when I realized that these types of thoughts had already stolen so much of my life….I simply went through the day not really living….I finally reached that place where I refused to live the rest of my life in the prison I had built around my heart. I have learned that we begin to believe what we focus on whether it’s true or not. Take for instance my fear of abandonment. When I personally focus on abandonment in my relationships and in my life then I begin to live as though I am worthy only of abandonment. I have come to believe what I focus on.

This is exactly what the enemy of our souls, Satan, wants us to believe….he comes to steal our dreams, our joy and our confidence. If we continually allow this mental garbage to fill our minds it will continue to take us down and keep us there….he is the father of lies.

And, if we continually live believing these lies, our mistaken beliefs will actually limit and frustrate the work of God in our lives.

What focus have you allowed to become a negative, limiting belief? What mind games is the enemy playing with you? You will never be loved? Never be free? Never be healed? Never have joy? Never have confidence? The list can go on and on…..

The only way our focus will begin to change is when we begin to focus on the truth of God. All too often we stand on the sidelines of life believing the lies we’ve heard all our lives, focusing on every imperfection and limitation….but God says: I am so in love with you, I gave you life. You can do anything inside the strength of my love. You are worthy. You are capable; I have given you gifts that only you have. You are beautiful. You are my daughter.

Until we decide to change our focus, our beliefs will never change.

You cannot continue telling yourself the same story, the same lines….if you do then nothing will change….This is the day…. Carpe diem-Seize the Day….make the decision to come to Jesus and change your focus….

Oswald Chambers wrote: If you want to know how real you are, test yourself by these words- “Come unto me” In every degree in which you are not real, you will dispute rather than come, you will quibble rather than come, you will go through sorrow rather than come, and you will do anything rather than come the last lap of unutterable foolishness—“Just as I am”

 I know you can do this….because I know the power of God to make it so!!!

Leave a Reply

