Strength for today…

I don’t know if you are like me at all but sometimes when the burdens seem to pile up, and life begins to dish out more than I can handle I often find myself getting overwhelmed…stresses seem to weigh me down and if I am not careful I find myself in a funk and discouraged.

 I usually get like this when I am trying to fight today’s battles with tomorrow’s strength….let me explain….

Matthew 6:34 says; ” Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.”

We know that God supplies all the strength we need to do all that He’s called us to do…. but, I read one time that He rations this strength much in the same way He rationed manna to the children of Israel…..when I first read that it didn’t make much sense to me but as I meditated on it I began to get it…in His Word, God tells me that He gives me all the strength I need for this day…. and for the challenges of this day.  This strength doesn’t carry over from one day to the next. You either use it, or lose it so to speak…..

Is it possible that He will not give us enough strength today for the battles, tasks, trials and challenges of next week, next month, or even next year. Rather, that this strength will be deposited into our account precisely when we need it, and not a moment before.

Yet, how often am I not looking ahead, feeling weighed down with all that life throws at me, wondering how I am going to get through the coming days, weeks, or months…but I can take comfort and hope  in knowing that God will give me enough strength for today…enough light for the step I am on…and if I keep my eyes focused on Him rather than what looms ahead I can rest in His strength.

The Word says that in this world I will have tribulation, but take heart because our Lord has overcome the world!!!

His mercies are new every morning…and His strength is available each new day…

Leave a Reply

