The negative spirit….

I was reading the other day about healing the negative spirit, the negative thinking that we can so easily fall into….or stinkin’ thinkin’ as my husband puts it. It’s so true that negative emotions equal negative pain whereas positive emotions equal pleasure.

I don’t think I am alone in this, I think we are all too familiar with negative emotions. You know what I mean, those feelings that drag us down and torment us. The negative emotions like guilt, resentment, regret, loathing, revenge, fear, blame, hostility and rage.

I’m sure you’ve heard the sayings; “Nothing ever works out for me. Nobody loves me. Life isn’t fair. Nobody understands me. Why do things always happen to me and not other people, I’ll never get ahead,  Nothing will ever change.” On and on the list goes….those people who have a Murphy’s Law mentality that whatever can go wrong, will go wrong. The glass half empty mentality. I’ve also heard it called mentalities of failure.

I’ve been one of those people…. and I’ve had to work at not being negative. I’ve had to go on a fast from negative thinking. And believe me going on a fast from negative thinking is not easy.

What was easy, all too easy was to stay in the rut of negative thinking that I grew up hearing. It’s not easy refraining from wrong thoughts and attitudes, a negative mind set and the negative comparisons.For too many years I allowed negative thinking to pollute my life. Having a defeatist attitude in many ways became a self-fulfilling prophecy.

Author Gregory Dickow talks about backward thinking. He says, “Backward thinking is when we’re concentrating on what we don’t have instead of being thankful for what we do have.”  He goes on to say that the discontented person thinks that everything he does for God is too much~and everything God does for him is too little.

It’s too easy to become addicted to negative emotions….and not even realizing that we are choosing them!!

Ask yourself as I did~ am I choosing guilt, sadness, worry…or how about gossip, offense, blame and hostility, or resentment and intolerance.

 Psalm 34- “Who loves life and desires to see good days? Let him refrain his tongue from speaking evil. Let him refrain from thinking guile. Let him refrain from thinking the wrong thoughts and speaking the wrong way”

 I have discovered that one way of healing is to change my mentality of failure, get rid of my negative thinking and to detach from negative and harmful relationships. It wasn’t easy, as I said I literally had to go on a fast from negative thinking. But it is possible, every day we are given the choices….years ago I made the choice to choose life….do I do it perfectly, not at all. I still fall, I can still fall into the pit of negative thinking….I can still find myself comparing and not measuring up, not being thankful for what I do have and focusing more on what I don’t have….but I am much better than I used to be. I think it was Joyce Meyer who said, “I may not be where I want to be but thank God I am not where I was!!”

 Lord Jesus, help me to stop focusing on what I don’t have and instead start seeing the good that You have already done. Give me the strength and might to relinquish attitudes of failure and by the power of your Holy Spirit help me to cultivate and establish a new way of  thinking and living…forgive me Father God for my backward and negative ways of thinking. I repent of my discontentment and thinking that You are not enough, that what You have done is not enough. Fill me Lord with Your spirit and enable me to live a life of gratitude and surrender.

4 thoughts on “The negative spirit….

  1. One of the painful consequences of being mistreated by others is negative thinking. It is hard work to overcome, but it can be done, as you are showing!

    I love Prov. 15:30. We may not be able to control how others look at us, but when we need our spirits revived, we can choose to be around those who will give us a cheerful look. That can break us out of our negative-thinking trap.

    Good post.

    wb

    Like

  2. “backwards thinking” is also when we read things in scripture about Christ teaching us how to treat one another, and instead of applying it to ourselves to instruct ourselves how WE ought to act, we turn it around and use it to judge others as to whether they are doing right by US or not.

    Like

  3. My desire also is “PTP” “Positive Thinking Process” as a constant. Tough to do. Dr. Daniel Amen says we have “ANTS” -AutomaticNegativeThoghts” and we must make a conscious effort to rid our thought process of these ANTS. I read it is a good thing to surround ourselves with positive people and you are certainly a positive person. I also am learning to become positive, not because I have had a positive childhood with positive circumstances, but b/c I have had a negative childhood, I have learned to become positive with the life lessons God has sent my way.

    Like

Leave a Reply

