Twice Refined

Continuing on …A Captivated Woman
As a little girl I loved to read, and fairy tales were among my favorites. Thumbelina made me cry, Cinderella gave me hope, and I laughed through Snow White delighted by the seven dwarfs. I would gaze at the pictures for hours imagining myself in their fancy ball gowns; dancing with the prince…..fairy tales offered the hopes and dreams of the life I envisioned as a child.
They awakened my heart to the possibilities of adventure, beauty, romance, a different life; the living happily ever after stories.
I think fairy tales awaken something in the heart of all little girls. It caused us to believe that we were meant for a world of splendor and wonder, of safety and protection. One of my favorite fairy tales made into a movie is Cinderella. In this movie and fairy tale I see my heart as a small child, a daughter who was born to be wanted, cherish and delighted in. A child who was born with a song in her heart and radiance in her soul that shone through her eyes. In the fairy tale she was meant to grow into a woman of beauty, courage and gifts; her life a gift to those around her.

But just like Cinderella that wasn’t the world I grew up in….and chances are neither were you.
In the story her prince does come, but first she experiences betrayal, heartache and suffering. As children we don’t understand that part of the story do we, until we are grown.

It’s been a few decades since I was that little girl who devoured those stories. As I look back at the little girl who was stirred by those stories, those fairy tales, it feels like that innocent heart belonged to someone else.

Looking back I see all too clearly how I allowed busyness, the desire to please people, the expectations, all the striving to define me. I even allowed my past, my mistakes, my failures, and the abuse to define who I was. And like Snow White I grew tired and fell into a deep slumber.

Stasi has said in Captivating that as women we still long for intimacy and adventure, we long to be the beauty in a great story, we long for what the fairy tales promise. Yet for many, even though that desire is planted deep in our hearts, it seems elusive because the message that our culture, and sadly even some churches, is that it is granted only to those who have it all together first. And so we are driven to try harder. To perform, to look perfect, to be perfect and in the process we bury our hearts and simply get on with life.

But wait…. I have heard a quiet voice whispering to my heart…..as God softly speaks through His Word my heart awakens and He gives me permission to take care of my heart, that my heart as a woman is the most important thing about me….Proverbs 4:23, “Keep vigilant watch over your heart; that’s where life starts.” (The Message)

And when I read about the creation in Genesis I find that rather than shaping Eve out of dust, the Lord “fashioned” her out of flesh and bone taken from Adam. I love that!!

Does this not make her twice refined??

Is there not a difference between fashioning and shaping? Could it be that fashioning reflects a greater level of creativity and a more refined technique?

Think about it ladies…..you have been created, fashioned by the Creator…you reflect His heart.

Can you hear His voice whispering how much He loves you….your heart matters to Him….from the time we are little girls until now we are on a journey to discover what God meant and had in mind when He created women in His image….our journey begins in our hearts….the journey of desire….the journey as John and Stasi have said; to be romanced, to play an irreplaceable role in a great adventure, and to unveil beauty. And just maybe that’s what the fairy tales were seeking to tell us as well.

Today I am a grandmother and as I read the fairy tales to my granddaughters I get a lump in my throat as I contemplate…. what will their stories will be….and I pray daily for them…I pray that as God writes their love stories it will be the most beautiful fairy tale of all.

2 thoughts on “Twice Refined

  1. Another good post.

    Maybe I can refer to another novel? Redeeming Love by Francine Rivers. It is set in the 1880s, but is based on the biblical story of Hosea and Gomer. I’m only about 120 pages into it, so I have no idea how it develops and ends, but so far it is very interesting. Francine shows how human trafficking in girls has been happening for a long time, even in this country. For anyone who won’t read the newspaper accounts of the horrors of human trafficking, they might read this captivating novel. It sure softens your heart to people you might have looked down on for immoral behavior. I’ve learned you simply can’t judge on the basis of surface behavior – who knows what happened in a person’s past that lead them to where they are? Francine’s book explores that. I’m thankful that God will take all circumstances into account and will one day give the oppressed the freedom they have longed for so long.

    Like

  2. I read this book when it first came out and loved it…but maybe I need to go and read it again!!
    I wrote about my own personal story of Hosea and Gomer in the category-God has lifted my head….its in four parts so its rather long…but it weaves Scripture from Hosea into what our marriage went through in the earlier years-22 yrs ago actually. God is good!!
    And how right you are~everyone has a story!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

