When you feel dry….

Have you ever felt drained and tired; does the process of healing seem endless? I’ve found there are times when I’ve been focusing on healing from past abuse & issues that it can leave me feeling very drained. And there have been those times when it feels like the process will never end…. and it leaves me thirsting for easier times.

Today as I sit and write there is a light rain falling outside. Although I have taken my watering can and watered my vegetable garden throughout the week, my garden is still dry and parched and huge cracks have formed in the rich, black soil because it is thirsty for the moisture that is falling now.

As it rains I marvel at how the ground eagerly soaks it up, the plants seem to reach for the life giving moisture as it saturates the ground and each plant becomes fortified and invigorated. I’ve also noticed there seems to be a difference in benefit between my watering can and the rainfall…..my sprinkling from the watering can doesn’t seem to deliver as much life as a fresh drenching, soaking rain.

I love to sit and watch the rain, to sit surrounded by the balmy mist and to listen to the sound of the rain drumming a gentle rhythm on the roof. It’s almost as if a magical tranquility takes over. As I watch the splendor of nature unleashed my cares are washed away. Within a few moments I am cleansed and I feel a wonderful sensation of well-being.

My thoughts turn to my Heavenly Father….as good as going to church, reading books or even reading blogs is, and don’t get me wrong~these are needed and they are good, they don’t compare to the soaking, life giving power and strength that is delivered through one-on-one time with our Heavenly Father…spending time with Him and reading His Word gives us life!! Soaking in the Holy Spirits presence and walking with Jesus Christ is irreplaceable.

Today I am reminded that the pain I experience is temporary….life with our Heavenly Father is eternal…. 2 Corinthians 4:17-18 (The Message) “So we’re not giving up. How could we! Even though on the outside it often looks like things are falling apart on us, on the inside, where God is making new life, not a day goes by without his unfolding grace. These hard times are small potatoes compared to the coming good times, the lavish celebration prepared for us. There’s far more here than meets the eye. The things we see now are here today, gone tomorrow. But the things we can’t see now will last forever.”

I pray today that the Holy Spirit will strengthen you with the outpouring of His love….that God’s love will saturate you today. That today as you walk with Jesus you will know peace and serenity, and a sense of well being will surround you….that just as the rain gives life to the plants it waters, so the Holy Spirit will quench your thirst today…you only need to ask…..be blessed dear readers.

Leave a Reply

