God’s Promise of Restoration

Joel 2:24-26

24 The threshing floors will again be piled high with grain,
      and the presses will overflow with new wine and olive oil.

 25 The Lord says, “I will give you back what you lost
      to the swarming locusts, the hopping locusts,
   the stripping locusts, and the cutting locusts.
      It was I who sent this great destroying army against you.
 26 Once again you will have all the food you want,
      and you will praise the Lord your God,
   who does these miracles for you.
      Never again will my people be disgraced.

One of my favorite Scriptures is found in the book of Joel…. So I will restore to you the years that the swarming locust has eaten…. What a great promise!

 Sadly sometimes it seems that the locusts have been busy in our lives, and often the landscapes of our experiences have left us scarred like a battlefield.

And sometimes even, there may be deep ruts where the enemy has made inroads in our lives….yet, God delights in restoring, rebuilding, repaying and renewing…and only God can do this.

 

As I have studied this passage of Scripture where God says; “So I will restore the years that the swarming locust has eaten, the crawling locust, the consuming locust and the chewing locust” we find there are four different kinds of locusts. One takes the flower, one takes the stem, one takes the leaf, and one takes the root, so when they are done there is virtually nothing left. Yet, God’s promise to us is that He will take us back from nothing and build us up again. That has been an awesome source of strength and encouragement in some of my most challenging and difficult times.

 

 

Our Lord delights to surprise and renew, to prove the impossible as possible, to make up for loss, and transform the ugliness of the cross into the glory of forgiveness. We don’t know how God will choose to do it, but I believe His word.

 

He WILL restore our lives and the years that have been consumed. We won’t leave this world until we have fulfilled His purpose for each of our lives. God is not tightfisted with his blessing. He promises to fully restore the lost years and bring us to a place where we will be completely satisfied. This is a lifeline, a hope we can hold on to when things look hopeless and we feel disheartened.

 

I read somewhere that He restores the years the locusts have eaten to demonstrate His grace, to bring Praise to His name, and to reveal His power.

 

And though we seem helpless to repair or heal the scars that remain in our lives, we can rest knowing that this is God’s terrain~because He alone can repair and resolve those dark places of doubt and despair in our lives…restoring to us the years the locusts have eaten….indeed it is the work of the Holy Spirit….and God takes great delight in restoring!!  

 

A dear friend once said that we don’t reclaim the years eaten by the locusts – the Lord restores them! Halleluiah!!

21 thoughts on “God’s Promise of Restoration

  1. I am currently on the Alpha course and last night we did a session entitled “How does God guide us?” Not only did this session speak to me directly about where i am in my life currently, but Nicky Gumbel spoke about this verse (Joel 2:25) and it pierced my heart! I have been wandering for so long in a wilderness and I now have real hope and faith that there WILL be restoration for me. Your blog on this verse has been a real blessing to me today as well. May you continue to bless others through this medium and in so doing be blessed yourselves!
    Thank you!

    Like

  2. Thank you so much Louise for reading along and for your comments….I rejoice with you that although in the wilderness our Father has given you hope~He has promised us waters of refreshing and the joy of restoration!! Keep pressing into the heart of our Heavenly Father….He will do as He has promised!!

    Like

  3. I have been struggling due to sexual abuse. What I just read has gave flame to the dying fire inside of me. I will hold onto to this truth. It was awesome to read! What a wonderful promise from God!

    Like

    • Shannon, thank you for reading along….I once knew exactly what you are feeling~the dying fire inside~but our Lord does promise to restore us..to heal our hearts and our hurts, and He will do as He promises…keep reading elsewhere on the blog as I’ve shared my journey of healing…and if there is an area that you specifically would like to hear about just send me an email and I will glady share!

      Like

  4. I Thank God for your life, in the Name of Jesus, Amen.
    I was greatly encouraged while reading your revelation on Joel. I am Trusting God to restore my prodigal husband, my marriage & the years stolen, in the Name of Jesus, Amen.
    I pray God grants you double favour for how you have taken the time to bless others. God Bless You!.
    Blessings
    Angel x

    Like

    • Thank you Nangula for your words of encouragement~I am always amazed how God can take our lives, messy as they are, and bring glory to Himself…He is good!!

      Like

  5. This passage has truely ministered to me. I have been without employment for almost two years now. I have been trusting in God to restore me and take me to a higher place in The whole time that I have been crying out to God, Satan has been listening as well and I have allowed him to consume my heart and mind with doubt. After reading this and studying God’s promises in my bible, I and now convinced again that God is about to take me from NOTHING to SOMETHING! You reminded me that God delights in restoring! I am tapping into His waters and praising Him in advance for total restoration and blessing me abundatly so that I can give to others and be a vessel for His love and resources to flow! Thank you so this word!

    *I will return to share my testimony with you!

    Like

  6. Thank you Rametria for reading and for leaving a comment……I know that awaiting for a
    job can be very,very difficult and cause us to lose hope….but I also know that God is a God of surprises and oftentimes when we least expect it!! Keep pressing into the heart of the Father, keep trusting and hoping, keep anticipating….the answers are on there way!! I await further testimony!!

    Like

    • You are very welcome…..God, in HIs timing, will restore the years the locust has eaten…it’s a promise….continue to trust His heart and His love for you!

      Like

  7. I am blessed to be reminded of our God delights in restoration and believe He will restore to me lost years after a broken marriage and the aftermaths of it.

    Like

    • Dear Ambrose,thank you for your kind words…and I do pray that God will indeed restore to you what was lost-He has made this promise to you..may you rest in His love and trust Him…healing comes through many unexpected and surprising ways…we simply need to keep our eyes and our hearts open to His working in our lives.Blessings to you

      Like

      • Awesumness. I think when u truly meet Jesus He changes your heart. And you look back to the past years and you cannot help but feel that it was time lost (locust stole). Awesome revelation you are sharing!

        Like

Leave a Reply

