For Glory and Beauty

 “You are to weave the tunic from fine linen, make a turban of fine linen, and make an embroidered sash.  Make tunics, sashes, and headbands for Aaron’s sons to give them glory and beauty. Put these on your brother Aaron and his sons; then anoint,  ordain, and consecrate them, so that they may serve Me as priests.”

Exodus 28: 39 – 41     (Holman Christian Standard Bible)

 

To give them glory and beauty.  That phrase jumped off the page into my heart this week and I’ve been musing over it ever since.  I’m not sure I have figured out exactly what it means but I’m sure that it’s important.  In Exodus, God paints a picture of the sacred with a fine tipped brush.  And that picture is astoundingly beautiful.  Each detail of the tabernacle, the sacrifices, and the garments of the priests sends us a mandate of holiness.  But that holiness is not and can never be our own.  With each clue in this book I’ve unravelled, I’ve fallen more deeply in love with my Savior and what He has done for me.

The Glory and Beauty of our God overflows into the lives of His children.  He adorns us, anoints us, ordains us, and consecrates us to serve Him as priests.  We reflect His Glory and radiate His Beauty to the universe.   In the light of His loving sacrifice we become the men and women He always meant for us to be.

Leave a Reply

