Dreaming Strategically

When our hearts are wounded it we often lose the ability to dream.  It’s easy to push down or ignore our desires, especially those placed within us by God’s provident hand.  Only in an atmosphere of safety do we feel free to dream again.  On the other hand, sometimes we choose dreams so big and so impossible that we feel safe from the possibility of our desires being fulfilled.  I wonder if I’ve sabatoged my dreams this way in the past.   I escape the mundacity of my daily grind by fantasizing about the one big enormously useful thing that can come along and give meaning to my life. 

I’m learning to dream strategically.  I ask myself what desire this longing is touching in my heart?  When I pull up on that string it inevitably leads to God and to His kingdom.  The purpose becomes clear.  Now I’m freed to pursue it in ways that are within my grasp.  To dream strategically we start small.  We fulfill our longings in ways that are attainable and build on that.  We never underestimate the small things.  Remember Jesus is all about the small stuff – the cup of cold water and the widows mite are only two examples out of many.  We share our desires out loud with other people.  You may spark a flame in another heart that will do more good than you ever realize.  God is very cool like that.  When we fail (and all sucess is built on failure) we try again in a different way realizing we are not and have never been in control of the universe.  We dance the dance as it unfolds to us with our honest longings as our guide.  Most of all, we pray through.

May God richly bless you to dream  beautiful dreams.

Leave a Reply

