To Find Delight

I just looked up the word delight on Bible Gateway.  The word is used in the Bible over 100 times.  It seems to be fairly evenly split between two uses:  God delighting in His humans and His humans delighting in God.  To delight is to find joy, extreme satisfaction, great pleasure, reward.  I think the Biblical picture of delight is a cycle: God takes great pleasure in giving us great joy as we in turn find our greatest reward in Him.

Here’s one example from Psalm 36.

How priceless is your unfailing love! 
       Both high and low among men 
       find  refuge in the shadow of your wings.

  They feast on the abundance of your house; 
       you give them drink from your river of delights
.

Heart wounds attack our capability of taking delight in anything.  With dull eyes and living-dead spirits we miss opportunities to see blessings and find gratitude.  The journey of healing begins with the practice of joy.  Slow down.  Notice things.  Stop.  Feel.  Appreciate.  Express.  To find delight in our Father is more urgent than our spiritual and material agendas.  It is the stuff of life.  Don’t miss it.

2 thoughts on “To Find Delight

  1. I needed to read this today. You are right about heart wounds making it difficult for us to be able to delight in anything. Especially when we won’t let them go … or don’t really know how to let them go.

    Sometimes I get to a place where I’ve begun to identify myself by those hurts. So to let go of them leaves me feeling so empty.

    I have to remember to let God define me. His definitions are accurate and true … I just have to learn to trust Him.

    I remind myself often that He delights in me … but too often forget to also delight in Him myself.

    Like

  2. I’m glad it meant something to you. I’m taking it as a mandate to learn to love: things (yes things too), people, God and myself. To love and appreciate what I have and those around me.

    I really hear what you’re saying about letting go and feeling empty. But you are so much more than your pain. You were created to love.

    I’m blessed by your comment today – as always.

    Peace,
    Lisa

    Like

Leave a Reply

