An Invitation Down a Rabbit-Hole

I have this thing about the book of Isaiah.  How I read it depends on my mood.  Now that I think about it, that can be said for the rest of the Bible as well.  I’m not sure if you’ve noticed this yet, but we have an accuser and he is not God.  When the cloak of intimidation is drawn back I have found that our enemy is nothing more than a cravenly finger-pointer.  When I am alert enough to observe my thoughts wandering to negativity toward others, toward myself and even toward God a flashing light and siren should go off.  I have crossed into enemy territory.

But I was talking about Isaiah.  It’s a complicated book, rich with extremes but steady on relationship.  It’s a lover’s fight between two parties who are nothing if not intense.  In Isaiah, God exposes the jealous vulnerability of His passion for His wayward bride.  He strongarms, reasons, threatens, and begs for her faithfulness.  And when her heart returns He rushes to swoop her up with the tender compassion of a worried mother.  His love for her is true as is His love for me, for you.

Under the influence of Satan I read and interpret the negativity and threats of this classic work as directed straight at me.  Each word of condemnation pins me to the wall like a fiery arrow, while the solace and hope of love and restoration rings hollow to my ears, so convinced am I that it must be meant for someone else.  I’d be better off leaving my Bible alone on days like that.

If you’re still following me on this scattered monologue I admire your tenacity.  I’m trying to say that how I read the Bible is more important than what I read or how much.  I’ve forced myself in the past to  be spiritual with a crowbar and a sledgehammer.  I didn’t have much luck with that and I don’t recommend it.   When we approach the Holy Scriptures wearing the glasses of our own badness or our own goodness we have lost the battle before we have begun.  It’s not about me at all.  It’s His story.  His love.  His heart revealed in Glory.  I am invited to come along; and that invitation, for me, is enough.

Having gone down a different trail with this post than I meant to, I’ll leave my favorite thoughts from Isaiah for another day.  But in the mean time I invite you to take a look at the book.  It’s a good read and it really picks up as it goes.

Peace.

4 thoughts on “An Invitation Down a Rabbit-Hole

  1. How beautifully said. Isaiah, or any other book is not about me, us or them, but Jesus Christ. If He is the center of the story, certainly He should be the center of our lives. Too often, I have read looking for “what’s in it for me” or “Boy this sure fits Mr. Jones”. When the question should be “Jesus, how do you want me to see your story to conform me to your image”. Why has it taken me 64 years to begin to see what He has for me? Because of my self-centered, ego centered life. He has never changed, thankfully, but He is changing me. Not good old Alan finally changing himself, but seeing His life being conformed to the image of our Savior. So now when I read His word, I am looking for Him, not looking for what I can do. Jer 29:11 comes to mind. He is looking to give me a grand future and hope just as he is you! Blessings

    Like

  2. This struck a chord with me! Isaiah has been a “close friend” to me for many years, but especially the past two years of my life. So, I came to this blog to read about the book of Isaiah and found myself reminded of a powerful truth – thank you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

