Acknowledging the wound….

…..He made us accepted in the Beloved- Ephesians 1:6

 

All too often at the heart of every woman afraid to call herself beautiful is a woman who has been wounded. And I’ve learned over the years that avoiding beauty or refusing to pursue it is self-protection.

 

Why is it in our hearts we believe that we’ll never be good enough, that we will never be accepted? For too many years, and still do at times, I felt that I was ugly or plain….the ugly duckling, one who could never call herself beautiful. Truthfully, I didn’t want to feel the pain of my childhood or the choices I had made.

 

Do you remember the fairy tale of the mermaid girl who longed to be beautiful? Her mother would clip sea shells on her tail, and as the girl cried out, her mother reminded her that beauty must hurt. Today that is a true statement for many of us…beauty does hurt, but for a different reason.

 

It hurts to open ourselves up again to disappointment and rejection. Acknowledging our desire for beauty can reopen wounds we’ve fought to close. We chose silence hoping it would heal us, and avoidance would help us to forget.

 

But the little girl inside us, who longed to be beautiful, to be accepted, is still there. So what do we do with her?

In Luke 18: 16, Jesus said, “Let the little children come to Me, and do not forbid them; for such is the kingdom of God.”

 

Are we willing to bring the little girl inside of us to Jesus? Or are we too afraid?

 

Women, Jesus will accept us just as we are. He will protect us, and give us courage to believe again. Jesus will allow us to believe again in love and beauty, and in a God who will always call us Beautiful!!

 

Jesus, we bring to you the little girl inside of each of us, thank you Jesus that you accept her just as she is……come Lord Jesus to your women, come Holy Spirit….protect us and give us the courage to believe….to believe again in love and beauty and in You Lord, a God who will always call us beautiful. Give to each woman reading here a supernatural vision of how You see her…..before others can see our feminine beauty we must first shed the cloak of aloofness and acknowledge that we need You Father to heal our hearts…set us free…..
….no longer do we want silence to heal us, or avoidance to make us forget…..we acknowledge that the little girl inside us who longed to be to be accepted, to be beautiful, to be seen and cherished is still inside….only You Lord can come and rescue her and heal her……restore to us a Holy passion.
Father God- heal our wounds….come Lord Jesus come….

4 thoughts on “Acknowledging the wound….

  1. Thank you so much for your writings. It hit me exactly where I needed to be hit. I have hidden for so long and don’t know how to stop hiding. And your writing especially the part that says:

    “And I’ve learned over the years that avoiding beauty or refusing to pursue it is self-protection. ”

    The self protection part stood out to me, I never thought of what I do as self protection.

    My goal now is how to undo that self protection.

    Thank you again.

    Like

  2. Thank you Brenda for joining us here and reading along…I am honored that something I wrote ministered to you.

    You are not alone in hiding, many of us have learned very early on in life to do it…and the unlearning may look different for each of us…but it is a journey we need to take.

    Will you allow yourself to look in the mirror and see a woman made beautiful in love? May you truly believe that you are loved deeply by your Heavenly Father, a woman made in His image…who radiates beauty and love….and I pray that you, as I have, will ask God to break through what ever it is that holds you back, that causes you to guard your heart, so that you may know love and see beauty…it’s truly how your Lord sees you!!

    Peace

    Like

  3. Thank you so much for your words. I needed them so much. The hiding has become so painful and lonely. I need to trust again. I too am asking Father God to break through whatever holds me back. Please keep writing. Deb

    Like

  4. Debra, bless you…I understand the hiding, and it is painful and lonely and we fear that coming out of the hiding will be just as painful…so fear keeps us locked in a prison unable to trust, unable to heal…but the gentle whisper of our Lord encourages us to come out of our hiding, to trust Him first and foremost…He is worthy of our trust, He will care for your heart like no one else ever can…you can trust Him, and when you ask Him-He will begin to breakthrough what holds you back, He will walk with you-you need not fear.
    I can’t help but think of Psalm 23:

    1 The Lord is my shepherd;
    I have all that I need.
    2 He lets me rest in green meadows;
    he leads me beside peaceful streams.
    3 He renews my strength.
    He guides me along right paths,
    bringing honor to his name.
    4 Even when I walk
    through the darkest valley,
    I will not be afraid,
    for you are close beside me.
    Your rod and your staff
    protect and comfort me.
    5 You prepare a feast for me
    in the presence of my enemies.
    You honor me by anointing my head with oil.
    My cup overflows with blessings.
    6 Surely your goodness and unfailing love will pursue me
    all the days of my life,
    and I will live in the house of the Lord
    forever.

    Thank you for finding the courage to share with us here Debra…and I am humbled and honored that my words ministered to you…May God be praised!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

