same old same old

Will I ever be free of the dread and fear of my parents? Will I ever stop secretly longing for their approval? Will I ever be able to set my heart at rest in the presence of God knowing my relationship with my mom and dad is broken and that they condemn me for it? Will I ever fill that big black hole inside where my parents’ love and acceptance was supposed to fit? Will I ever find someone to take their place, someone I can intimately trust and rely on, or will that whole generation die off and leave me alone? Will God judge between broken me and my broken mother, calling who really left who, who was really wronged, and who really won the elusive goal of God’s acceptance and approval? Or will there be grace enough for both of us?

2 thoughts on “same old same old

Leave a Reply

