Father’s Day Cards

One of the things I miss the most about having an ongoing relationship with my Dad is buying him a Father’s Day card.  Instead this year I decided to go buy a card that expressed my gratitude to my true Father and Creator.  Although I didn’t have a plan for how to deliver it I couldn’t resist the urge to go pick one out.  It turns out I couldn’t narrow it down to just one card, so I bought three instead.    

Here we go:

Card #1

Outside: Fathers who believe in their daughters give them the courage to succeed.

Inside:  Wherever I go, whatever I do in my life, I always know that you believe in me and that makes all the difference in the world.  Happy Father’s Day.

My thoughts:  I like this one because I like to think about the fact that God believes in me.  One of the best responses I ever heard to atheism was when someone said, ‘I don’t believe in God’ and someone else said, ‘that’s OK because He believes in you.’

Card #2:

Outside:  My Dad, my HERO

Inside: For teaching me the things I needed to know to get along in this world, for treating me with kindness and respect, for loving me through every phase of my life, especially when it wasn’t easy.  I couldn’t thank you enough or love you more.  Happy Father’s Day.

My thoughts:  This one reminded me how God always stood by me even when no one else did.  He loved me when I wasn’t easy to love and His kindness and respect is teaching me true compassion.  “But God demonstrates His own love for us in this:  while we were still sinners Christ died for us.”  (Romans 5:8 NIV)

Card #3:  

Outside:  It’s little things that make dads heros, things not often seen, sacrifices made while living out each day’s routine,

Inside:  It’s little things a father does, the things he knows he must, the ‘being there’ when each day’s through, the love that builds up trust.  And though there’s not a list of every single thing he’s done, the heart remembers and gives thanks for each and every one.  You’ve always been there for me — and since Father’s Day is here, I wanted you to know how much I admire you, how much I love you, and how proud I am that you’re my dad.

My thoughts:  I often think of the mind-boggling ways God built love and beauty into the universe.  Human beings will never be able to catalog the depth of His work, but those ways of His that I’ve stumbled across have made my life worth living.  I am proud to be a daughter of the King!

 

Happy Father’s Day!

2 thoughts on “Father’s Day Cards

  1. I love that you did this! I will look at father’s day cards in a whole new light! I love the things you said about your true Father! He NEVER fails….Even our really good earthly fathers have their moments but our Heavenly Father is so perfect for each one of us…Thanks for the Post…
    Love you tears!

    Like

Leave a Reply

