Resurrection Musings

I spent a year in the Ural mountain reigon of Russia.  Such a long hard cold winter.  Such bitter bleakness.  We were close enough to the Arctic Circle that light itself was a precious commodity.  It was hard to stay motivated.  It was easy to slog along in my rut, thinking, ‘yep, this is life — this is the best it gets’.  Then finally one morning when I had just about resigned myself to be forever grasped by winter’s ruthlessness I woke up and sensed a subtle change.  A voice of hope deep inside me whispered, ‘take heart, Spring is on it’s way’.                                                                                                                                                                                                        Spring WAS on it’s way –and what a Spring it was!  That year my eyes were opened for the first time to the wonders of Spring’s glory.  I realized that every spring I had ever experienced was a pale weak imitation to the live-action reality that is a Russian Spring.  The deep rich green trees and vibrant flowers came to life before my eyes.  The air had a fresh clean newness that if it could be bottled would sell in the billions.  The world woke up and shook its sleepy head and I felt as if I was watching it all at ten times normal speed.                                                                                                                                                                                                              Sometimes I wonder if God toys with me.  Makes me wait for things.  What’s that about?  Is it the joy He sees in me when I finally get what I want?  Did the waiting make the giving sweeter?  Or does the waiting and the pain it brings along produce some whole and healing effect deep inside me?  Silent and invisible work being done in me while I’m not paying attention?   In my impatience, my longing to be in charge of the schedule, to plan out when each step is going to happen I miss something weighty and important.  I think it’s the fact that God loves the process.  And maybe that the realest and deepest work takes time. I’m waiting Father, for Your work in me.  Bring me to back life — like Your Spring — like Your Son.

2 thoughts on “Resurrection Musings

  1. Craig!! Thanks so much for reading and commenting here. I’m so happy to have reconnected with you after so many years.

    Yeah, I would say that most of the work God does in me I’m kinda oblivious to. I’ll do something and wonder ‘where did that come from?’ I guess God was working on my heart when I wasn’t looking.

    Like

Leave a Reply

