Do you see yourself as Beautiful?

Psalm 90:17….
And let the beauty of the LORD our God be upon us,
         And establish the work of our hands for us;
         Yes, establish the work of our hands.
Friends-women, I have a question for you……have you ever considered that its not only okay to believe yourself to be beautiful but that perhaps that belief is actually part of your spiritual heritage?

Beauty is an expression of spiritual creativeness, because beauty originated with God.
Ginger Garret says that, “ Beauty is a definition of God and a focal point of our praise.” She goes on to say that, “While many women worship God and have an intimate relationship with Him, only 2 % of women consider themselves beautiful.”

As believers we have been sold a lie that tells us beauty is only external and temporary at best.
But as believers, is it not the reality that beauty is actually woven into our very being and its not something created every morning in front of a mirror?

Friends, beauty is our spiritual birthright.

Its really not about what we are presenting….a finished design waiting to be judged……but perhaps its more about what we are expressing.

I believe that at the heart of every woman who is afraid to call herself beautiful…… is a woman who has been wounded. I know because I was one of them…..and to some degree I still struggle with this…..but I have learned that avoiding or denying beauty, or even refusing to pursue it….is self-protection.

In my heart I believed that I would never be good enough…….I would never be accepted. Avoid humiliation at all costs…..and being a (recovering) perfectionist made it a real internal struggle. What I showed on the outside did not reflect what I felt about myself on the inside……it was a facade….self-protection allowed me to not connect.

Growing up I was the “ugly ducking” with an older sibling who was the “beautiful princess”….everyone would always comment how pretty she was and then they would look at me….and well, the silence spoke volumes.
Throughout elementary school I was teased unmercifully about my teeth and called names by one boy, he bullied me into believing I was what he called me….one boy…that’s all it took for me to believe that I would forever be labeled and was unacceptable. So how could I ever call myself beautiful?

Beauty does hurt…..because if we acknowledge our desire to be beautiful it then hurts to open ourselves again to possible disappointment and rejection……the very wounds we fought to keep closed.

You know what friends….inside all of us is a little girl who as a child longed to know she was noticed, that she was beautiful. And that little girl who longed to be beautiful is still there. What are you going to do with her?

Can you take the risk, as I did, of bringing that little girl inside of you to Jesus? Can you ask Him to heal your wounds……can you believe dear friends that you are beautiful?

I am learning and slowly starting to believe that I am a woman who is deeply loved by God and even dare I say, beautiful by His touch……that as I confess and shed the self-protection, He in turn gives me a healthy awareness of how He sees me….sees all of us…..utterly loved, completely secure and beautifully radiant.

He made us accepted in the Beloved- Eph. 1:6

Jesus, we bring to you the little girl inside of each of us, thank you Jesus that you accept her just as she is……come Lord Jesus to your women, come Holy Spirit….protect us and give us the courage to believe….to believe again in love and beauty and in You Lord, a God who will always call us beautiful. Give to each woman reading here a supernatural vision of how You see her…..before others can see our feminine beauty we must first shed the cloak of aloofness and acknowledge that we need You Father to heal our hearts…set us free…..
no longer do we want silence to heal us, or avoidance to make us forget…..we acknowledge that the little girl inside us who longed to be to be accepted to be beautiful, , to be seen and cherished is still inside….only You Lord can come and rescue her and heal her……restore to us a Holy passion.
Father God- heal our wounds….come Lord Jesus come….

One thought on “Do you see yourself as Beautiful?

  1. Yes, I know what you are talking about. I’ve had to work to open myself up to the possibility of letting God shine in me. To stop holding back. As I’ve done that an amazing transformation has occurred. People – even strangers have pointed me out as beautiful. I think I had ‘beauty walls’ and worked hard at not shining. As those walls came down God’s love shines out more freely and people are attracted to it. It’s not about how we measure up to a generally accepted standard in a physical way. Every woman has beauty to offer the world and as she offers it, she shines and at times that spills over into the physical as well. This is a great topic my friend!

    Like

Leave a Reply

