The Father’s Compassionate Heart

Yet the LORD longs to be gracious to you;        he rises to show you compassion.        For the LORD is a God of justice.        Blessed are all who wait for him!  (Isaiah 30:18 ‘The Message’)God has been awakening something deep inside me that I’ve been protecting myself from for many years.  I have become aware, partly through this blog, that my particular wounds have cut me off from God’s compassionate heart.  Unable to feel compassion for myself.  Unable to accept compassion from others.  Unable to feel authentic sympathy for people.  Unable to believe that the words spoken by Isaiah could represent how God feels toward me.  He longs to be gracious?  He rises to show compassion?  I wish there were an easier way.  But intimacy, friendship, relationship, love… are just meaningless words unless we can share our pain as well as pleasure.  God wants honesty from me; and I’m trying my best to get there.

Leave a Reply

