The Butterfly Lie continued

I’d always believed that as the Lord healed my wounds I would one day be transformed from feeling like a caterpillar to being a butterfly. But I am coming to realize that since we do not live in a butterfly world perhaps we really are all just caterpillars- in metamorphosis….in process….we are in-process people. Perhaps that is what we are intended to be….maybe that is what we will always be.

Is it possible that as we journey throughout our personal metamorphosis our Heavenly Father sees us complete and perfect if we are Christians? I believe that God is not displeased or disappointed with us or even surprised that we are not completely perfected in our present lives. I am reminded of a quote I heard years ago that said God loves us so much that He accepts us right where we are. But He loves us too much to leave us right where we are at.

So maybe God has a plan for me, for you, His caterpillar Christians, and He calls it transformation. (the Greek word for transformation is metamorpheo)

Romans 12:2: And do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind, that you may prove what is that good and acceptable and perfect will of God. So as I ponder this I am coming to understand that this transformation/metamorphosis is the result of a lifelong process of mind renewal.

For me, having lived so much of my life shame-based it is freeing to realize that I don’t need to settle anymore for a “transferred” life but instead seek to live a “transformed” life. And this is a continuous, lifelong process….shifting my devotion and obedience from the world and family rules to Christ Jesus and His truth. This is what sets me free to receive God’s gift of a new concept of myself based on His grace.     

Quoting author Sandra D. Wilson, she says: “One of God’s purposes for His children is that we renounce our loyalties and obedience to the ideas that shaped us and move into the “renewed” thinking that promotes our transformation process. A major piece of our old thinking includes the beliefs that shaped our personalities and concepts of self. God wants to bring us out of our painful, shame-full way of thinking and living. And this is where mind renewal and self-denial embrace. Part of denying ourselves means denying the old thinking patterns that molded us.”

The journey of recovering from perfectionist thinking and behaving is a process of continually making new choices based on truth. And the truth enables me to live free from the oppressive task master of perfectionism….always trying to live up to impossible high, self-imposed standards.

I will leave off here for now and talk more later about my personal mask of perfectionism.

One thought on “The Butterfly Lie continued

Leave a Reply

